Feb 4, 2013

Devendra Banhart: New Album And Single

On March 12, 2013, Devendra Banhart releases his Nonesuch debut, Mala, and typical of Banhart it's heavy on songs that don't wear out their welcome. The second track shared by the label is "Never Seen Such Good Things" and it's a bass heavy lilting beauty that may be the best pop song you've heard this year. It wouldn't sound out of place on a Strokes record, it's simply a great melody with well chosen instrumentation and the editing of experienced musicians. Mala, his eighth release, was recorded in Banhart's home with long time collaborator Noah Georgeson on an old Tascam recorder find in a thrift shop.
“A lot of early hip-hop had been made on [the Tascam],” says Banhart. “And knowing my songs are not hip-hop whatsoever, we thought it would be interesting to see how these kinds of songs would sound on equipment that was used to record our favorite rap. Let’s see how this technology would work for us. In the past we were more like, let’s use the oldest equipment we could find.”

Mala Track List:
01. "Golden Girls" - 1:35
02. "Daniel" - 3:05
03. "Für Hildegard von Bingen" - 2:35
04. "Never Seen Such Good Things" - 3:13
05. "Mi Negrita" - 3:24
06. "Your Fine Petting Duck" - 5:46
07. "The Ballad of Keenan Milton" - 2:12
08. "A Gain" - 1:35
09. "Won't You Come Over" - 3:35
10. "Cristobal Risquez" - 2:28
11. "Hatchet Wound" - 3:08
12. "Mala" - 1:08
13. "Won't You Come Home" - 3:31
14. "Taurobolium" - 3:16
15. "Something French" (LP-Only Bonus Track) - 2:57
16. "Loring Baker" (LP-Only Bonus Track) - 2:25

No comments: